The “Amen” Bug

I would like to make an observation that could be a little “close” to some people and I apologize if I do. I attended the Global Day of Prayer event in my area yesterday and it was a good service with good music, a band, and several speakers. Being an Anglican, I notice things that are strange. The “Amen” Bug as I have called it, is when a pastor or teacher stirs their congregation to repeat the word Amen. Now I’m not saying that this is wrong or strange in light of some denominations, but it can be quite catchy. Many of the speakers that spoke at the service of prayer, were from pentecostal and they have a natural tendency to say phrase like

“Can I hear an Amen?” ” Amen People!” I can’t hear you, I said Amen!” “Amen?”

When you hear your own vicar saying those phrases, which I have never heard him say before, then you have got to say that it is highly infectious. The diagnosis for this bug is to go to a BCP (Book of Common prayer service), and your health will improve, because the use of “Amen” is in what the Anglicans would call “its proper place”. Some side effects from this bug are: Your blood levels rise and voice gets louder, and you start to sweat, and you might suffer from exhaustion from being  a bit OTT.

Now I hope that this has given you a few pointers to this bug.  I’m in full support for people to be contaminated with this bug, because I would like that to become the “Jesus” bug, (In a good sense) when the name of Jesus and his gospel is spread throughout the world.

Author: Urban Curate

Following from the Ministry Trainee, I am a urban Curate who is at a church in the West Midlands with a passion to serve the Lord. I'm 28 years old, married with two children.

Leave a Reply

