Building your own cross.

The task that I have given myself at the start of Holy week  is to build a cross for our Good Friday mediation service. I reused two really good pieces of timber that could have been burnt for heat but are going to be used to point worshipers back to the pinnacle part of the passion narrative. I was leaving it till late in the day to start work on the cross, and as I was creating the box joint, and focusing on the tools I was thinking about the building process of the carpenters who build the cross to crucify our Lord. They were making an object that Christ would use to take all the sins of humanity. It would be an object that would be stained by the blood of Christ as he was being nailed. It would be an object that would change the lives of so many people. The use of the cross before Christ was to kill murders, blasphemers. The Cross of Christ has saved those who deserve death and given them a new life in Christ.

When I had finished contemplating the image of the cross, the work was finally finished and ready for Friday. The striking thing that I can take away from this project is to realize that during the time of Christ, the cross was a tool of death, but because of Christ, it has become a tool for salvation and life.

Author: Urban Curate

Following from the Ministry Trainee, I am a urban Curate who is at a church in the West Midlands with a passion to serve the Lord. I'm 28 years old, married with two children.

Leave a Reply

