Instruments In the Redeemer’s Hands: Book Notes: Chapter 8

These are my notes for Chapter 8:

1. What have I found helpful/ insightful in this chapter?

The opening Illustration by Tripp, about the Grace, and how she was abused, and that resulted in her blindness, moved me to tears.
It is all about Suffering. The structure of the chapter was helpful, because the layout had key pointers, in order to deal with someone who is going through suffering.

The use of Hebrews 2, when Tripp says:

“Just as Christ was declared perfect because of our sins, in eternity, We are declared perfect in Christ (Justification). And just as Christ’s suffering demonstrated his righteousness on earth, we also become holy through the process of suffering (sanctification)” p148

It is a reminder that even though we suffer in a cursed and broken world, we share our suffering with Christ.

Going through a small period of suffering involving myself losing my car, and also feeling responsible for Kim’s dad car being written off, I found the reassurance while read Tripp today, that God has complete control over everything that happens, and the comfort is; God is suffering with me that is what I found the most amazing is that the suffering I go through is not just my own, but also God’s, “Even our suffering does not belong to us, but to the Lord” p153

The last thing I found helpful was the way to tell a Christ centred story: because “Our stories take God’s truth to the struggles of life and present strong reason not to give up!” p155

1. Tell your story in a way that breaks down the misconception that you are essentially different from the person you are helping.

2. Always tell a complete story.

3. As you tell the story, be honest in describing your struggles and failures

4. Be discerning and purposeful as you tell your story.

5. Always tell your story in a way that makes God the key factor in the drama.

6. Tell your story with humility, admitting your continuing need for grace.

7. Always make it clear that you are not what this person needs: God is.

8. The goal of your story should always be worship.
2. How will what I have read apply to my preaching ministry of counselling?

“We stand alongside each other. We are equals. We share the same experience of suffering” p148.

We all are part of this world, and we all suffer. I will apply to my ministry and counselling, the method that Tripp uses to engage with personal ministry:

“Since suffering is a common human experience identifying with suffering is critical to personal ministry” p157

1. It gives us the opportunity to make the truth concrete for people

2. It encourages people to depend on Christ and not us

3. It encourages humility and honesty

4. It redeems my story

5. It makes my life a window to the glory of Christ.

6. It results in worship of Christ
3. Next time we meet I would like to discuss… How we can distinguish between someone who is suffering and really needs our care, and someone seeking attention by using the power of suffering? p153 “I once watched a little boy fall of his bike…He started to cry, but quickly stopped. He picked up his bike walked silently to his house. When he stepped on his porch he began to wail in pain…This little guy is enjoying this moment”

