Instruments in the Redeemer’s Hands: Book Notes: Chapter 4

Posted: January 30, 2012 in MT Life, Theology
Tags: , , , ,

These are notes for Chapter 4:

1. What have I found helpful/insightful in this chapter?

From university days, I learned that the problem of human behaviour is down to the heart. It’s great to see Tripp applying this to scripture.

When it comes down to personal ministry Tripp explains

“Effective personal ministry takes the kingdom promise of lasting change to the place where it is needed the heart” p58.

He then goes on to explain the reasons for different behaviours, and the definition of the word “heart” in scripture; “The bible uses heart as the inner being” p59

I found the most helpful illustration was the passage from Luke 6:43-45: which addresses “the problem with my words was directly tied to the problem with my heart” p61

It is a helpful reminder to me, from the last chapter; in order for us to help people in ministry, we need to tackle with the problems of people’s hearts. But how can we do that? By using the scripture, and trusting in the power of God, to soften people’s hearts.

The example from pg64 actually happened to me. I was brought up in a christian family, and my life revolved around the faith that my parents had, until I left and went to university, then my faith, and heart was exposed to the reality of the “dark side”. Sexual immorality and idolatry were the 2 most present expositions that I encountered, but I was able to keep my faith and not lose it, like the example.

This chapter has really revealed to me that in order for people’s behaviour to change, we must address the heart

2. How will what I’ve read apply to my preaching ministry or counseling?

In my preaching, I will attempt to address problems that people have in their lives, through illustrations and application questions while using scripture. I would then want to follow-up, and find out how they have impacted people’s behaviour issues, and then to work on the deeper problems with in the heart. Tripp emphasizes this by saying:

“If we fail to examine the heart and the areas where it needs to change, our ministry efforts will only result in people who are more committed and successful idolaters” p69
3. Next time we meet I would like to discuss…

The problems of Idols that are in our hearts, and how we can address Idols that the world have created and to apply them to scripture.

 

Leave a Reply

