Instruments in the Redeemer’s Hands Book Notes Chapter 2

Posted: January 28, 2012 in MT Life, Theology
Tags: , , ,

Here are my thoughts on Chapter 2 of this book:

1.What have I found helpful/insightful in this chapter?

To remember that we are all part of the body of Christ. We all have gifts and skills that we can share with others, and we are not all perfect pastors.
“A body only grows as each part does its work” (pg 20) This is a helpful insight that the body as a whole needs to grow together. We as a preaching team we need to grow together. If one of us slacks or doesn’t keep in touch, then the body won’t grow.

Another helpful insight is:
“God uses ordinary people to do extraordinary things in the lives of others” (pg 18)
The only way we can bring people closer to God is through his word. Tripp explains two helpful truths about applying God’s word to his people.
1. It is God who transforms people through his word:
“God transforms lives as people bring his word to others” (pg 19)
“God in his word gives me everything I need to be who he wants me to be and to do what he wants me to do” (pg 26)

2. God’s word is to be used as a tool not a collection of records
“We forget that God’s word is our primary tool of change” (pg22)
“It is not an answer book, encyclopedia or an outline” (pg 26)
“You don’t handle scripture topically, you will miss the overarching themes* at the heart of everything else God would want to say” (pg 27)
*Me and Ian were reminded about this at MMTC on Thursday.

The final thing that I found helpful is the illustration of Concrete. The Rebar represents the lines of systematic theology. Very helpful!

2. How will what I’ve read apply to my preaching ministry or counseling?

All I can say is what I can quote from Tripp:

“Personal ministry brings a monsoon of God’s word to the parched terrains of hearts” (pg 23)

I will want to concentrate in my preaching, the relevant issues that people have in their hearts and address it through God’s word, but then use it as a foundation to talk to people afterwards. I will use scripture as the ordained word of God, and not a record book, and use it as a tool and communicated it in a way that is simple to understand (only use greek for exegetical work)

3. Next time we meet I would like to discuss… The way we as a preaching team, use each others skills, and grow together as a body, but also how we prepare and compose our talks. (just helps me develop other ways to prepare talks)

Leave a Reply

