Instruments in the Redeemer’s Hands Book Notes Chapter 1

Posted: January 27, 2012 in MT Life, Theology
Tags: , , , ,

As part of my training as an MT, I have been reading a book by Paul David Tripp called “Instruments in the Redeemer’s Hand” (Picture below). Our church preaching team have been reading this book over the last 5 months. We read a chapter a week and then write an email using the selected questions to share what we have learnt.  Here is Chapter 1. There are 14 chapters, and I will blog them as I go.

There are 3 questions that we have to answer per week and they are:

1.  What have I found helpful/insightful in this chapter?

2.  How will what I’ve read apply to my preaching ministry/ counseling?

3.  Next time we meet, I would like to discuss… 

1. What have I found helpful/insightful in this chapter?

As soon as I read the opening page, it clearly identified the only thing worth living for and that is “the good news”.
The most insightful part of this chapter that spoke out to me was this line on page 8

“We must not offer people a system of redemption a set of insights and principles. We offer people a redeemer”

It has reminded me that when we speak to people in ministries, we need to offer them Jesus; because as it says “Only hope is found in Jesus”. We all have the fundamental problem (Sin) and its great to know that Jesus came in order for us to be redeemed.

The other line that helped me was the end of the chapter on pg 16

“As he changes us, he then allows us to be part of what he is doing in the lives of others”.

I need to be changed before God, before I can help others, and that is a very helpful reminder!

2. How will what I’ve read apply to my preaching ministry/ counseling?

The chapter has reminded me that the core of preaching is to proclaim Jesus as the “good news”. The emotion and enthusiasm that I put into each of my talks highlights the joy in knowing Jesus as our redeemer who has come to save us. I will apply Mark 1:15 as one of the core foundation to my talks because it describes exactly what preaching is all about. “The kingdom of God is near, Repent and believe the good news”. It was also helpful to be reminded that God is in complete control, and that everything is possible because of him.

3. Next time we meet, I would like to discuss… Motivations that we use in our lives that could be adapted for ministry.

Leave a Reply

