Strikes disrupt sermon prep.

Posted: November 30, 2011 in MT Life, Problems
Tags: , , , , ,

 

What a great day so far… This morning I was planning on going down to my local library, and sit in one of their warm reading rooms, and make a start on my second talk. I left the vicarage, bumped into some familiar faces, and headed straight for the library. When I got there, outside on the door there was a sign that read “Surestart class cancelled”. It was only the class that was cancelled, and when I checked the main sign on the wall, the doors didn’t open till 10:30. Great I have 1 hour before I can do some prep. The town has no real coffee shops like Costa, or Starbucks, where you can kill some time. So I went to a Weatherspoons, and grabbed a coffee, and made an attempt to start work along with the noise and hustle of the local morning drinkers. It was a wonderful atmosphere. I never thought I would be preparing God’s word among people drinking pints.

After I had a coffee, and it was approaching 10:20. I left the “happy drinkers” and headed back to the Library. 10:30. Doors remained shut, and lights off! It didn’t occur to me that it was the day of the strike! Bother!! I checked on the website of the Library using my smart phone, and in small writing it said “all libraries will be closed”. Great! So I walked all the way to town and back to do some prep, and I spent most of the time walking backwards and forwards.

The annoying thing is that these strikes are down to selfishness and greed. There is no need for people to strike. I know that this morning I had a selfish ambition of going to the library and doing work, but what about the many people who depend on the services? What will it achieve apart from chaos? I wish that everyone would accept that Jesus is the one person they need to rely on and not the schemes of man. I pray that people of today’s society realise that their hope is false if they trust in governments and politicians, and not the awesome love and power of God.

Please join with me in prayer for these people!!

Leave a Reply

