Picking up some bargains!!

As a trainee, who is about to go off to college next September to begin training for ordained ministry, I realised that I must begin to collect books for my “Library”.

We had a coffee morning this morning at our church, and i was able to talk with some of the older folks and eat some vicar’s wife cake (yum), One of the ladies who organised it came out with a big full of books that looked like they were ancient. Due to my curiosity, I ferreted among the books, and old tracts and came across a few gems. I found Rick Warren’s “The Purpose driven church”, and “The Purpose driven life”. I also found two intercession books by Susan Sayers. The lady said “Shall I throw them all away?”

I instinctively reacted and saved these books from the recycle tip, and they are now amongst my collection of theological books. I know you might think, ‘well ive read them, and you can get them from shops’ but I gave £1 donation for the lot, instead of paying £40 in a shop.

You never know what you will find in the most unlikely of places!

Author: Urban Curate

Following from the Ministry Trainee, I am a urban Curate who is at a church in the West Midlands with a passion to serve the Lord. I'm 28 years old, married with two children.

Leave a Reply

