Whats does a tin of baked beans and a Monday afternoon equal?

Posted: November 2, 2010 in Uncategorized

As Mondays for an MT are very spontaneous, it leaves me a day where I could either catch up on reading, or even play some guitar, or sleep. Well, I wanted to help out and get involved with so more practical work, and it has always been on my mind to get involved with some other area of ministry. I found on a notice sheet that they are looking for some volunteers to help run the food bank in the town, and I was very happy to go along and help. I have never seen anything like this before, and I was really worried that something was going to happen. When I arrived at the centre, (they didn’t expect me) there was an element of surprise at my arrival, which is expected, and I couldn’t wait to roll my sleeves up and get some work done.

I was introduced to the other volunteers, and they shed some stories with me, and this gave me such a drive to get involved. It’s a clever and well organised process, and there were people who needed the food. When we gave out the parcels of food, the faces of the recipient change. It felt so moving; I have never seen someone clinch on to a tin of baked beans before. The stories that these people tell are shocking, but real! These are people who can’t afford to feed themselves or their families, and need assistance. It is a project/charity and I am so thankful for all the churches and people who give freely to this venture. 

I had to words that described the food bank as a whole. It is ‘Amazing’, and ‘Ridiculous’.

Its amazing, because of the generosity and level of people who get fed by the scheme and also the amount of food, and support. The other thing that makes it amazing are the stories that people tell and sometimes they are good, and others need prayer.

I use ridiculous, because they shouldn’t be in this situation to begin with. We are in one of the wealthiest countries in the world, and there are still people who can’t live, or find food. What is going wrong? How is this happening?

I will say that long may it continue, and it will be an honour to continue to help these people out. There is a sense of doing God’s work when you speak to the people, or even when you hand over that lifeline.  I will try now and continue with this ministry in helping this project, and I prayer for all the people who help to keep feeling generous, because this is part of God’s work, and plan for these people.

It reminds me of what Jesus says about him being the Bread of life John 6:35

‘Jesus declared “I am the bread of life. He who comes to me will never go hungry, and he who believes in me will never be thirsty.’

This is so true for all those people who need to feed on Jesus. Long may this ministry continue…………

Leave a Reply

