Can a Christian Listen to Metal music?

I’ve been looking around for some new music, and one of my biggest genres  is metal music. I know a lot of Christians might see me as a hypocrite but… it’s the lyrics of the songs that are the problem. My enjoyment of this genre of music goes back to my teenage years, of listening to Bullet for my Valentine, Lostprophets etc. The problem though is…. they are all satanic bands, and their lyrics are very blasphemous. I wondered if there is any Christian metal bands, that could help me fill in the gap that I’m missing, and help me get off this evil path?

I was looking on the web, and using you tube (as usual) I typed in ‘Christian Metal bands’, and presuming that I was probably going to get one band, but I was very surprised with what I saw. This video blog is called: Can God use Christian metal?? and this surprised me a lot!!

After listening to the video blog, what do you think?? This is the vital key in order to reach out to the Goths, and emo’s! They love the power of metal music and as he says in the blog “It’s not the music that is evil, it’s the people behind the music that are evil!!” and I agree with him. Some of you might feel that we are allowing the devil to work if we support metal music; but is it so different to watching secular movies?

We as christians should be supporting our brothers and sisters, in the way they are offering worship up to God. Just because we can’t understand the lyrics, or it is too loud, or monotonic, it does not show the love that the artists have for Jesus and the Gospel.

I have a passage of scripture that will support this claim: Psalm 98: 4-6

4 Shout for joy to the LORD, all the earth,
       burst into jubilant song with music;

 5 make music to the LORD with the harp (guitar, drum,bass) 
       with the harp (and those above) and the sound of singing,

 6 with trumpets and the blast of the ram’s horn—
       shout for joy before the LORD, the King.

I’ve added the instruments to the psalm to bring it in to context. The reason why they aren’t in the original text is that they didn’t exist. We are commissioned to burst in to song and shout for joy. Doesn’t that sound like metal music to you? I’ve left a taster for those who would like to have a look at a Christian metal band.

Author: Urban Curate

Following from the Ministry Trainee, I am a urban Curate who is at a church in the West Midlands with a passion to serve the Lord. I'm 28 years old, married with two children.

1 thought on “Can a Christian Listen to Metal music?”

  1. You can certainly make your musical tastes into Law but Romans 6:14 is something to consider. Galatians 3:12 is another to consider. Don’t make your music tastes Law, it’s not of faith. If a song inspires you, if you hear “truth” reflected in a song, then praise God for it regardless of what the artist meant. Music is meant to be viewed through the lens the listener see’s it through, such is artwork.

    You are God’s artwork, so are the lillies of the field. Both grow by focusing on Christ, not on Law (meaning walking by the flesh because you’re trying to earn something from God by not listening, or gaining something by listening to “Christian” rock.) Don’t focus on what you do or listen to. Just give thanks for whatever brings you joy, peace, and love.

    Read 2 Thes 5:16-18, thank God even for your sin, but don’t walk by law – it’s not of faith. Have faith that God turned you onto the songs you love and enjoy them with thanksgiving Brother 🙂

    You’ve been perfected forever, rejoice and realize nothing, not music, or anything else can seperate you Rom 8:38-39.

Leave a Reply

