The Meeting with the DDO

Posted: October 22, 2010 in MT Life, Prayer, Theology
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

With the role that I’m doing, I have to be monitored on what type of things I’m doing for my faith, and believe me; it’s not easy. This Monday I had a meeting with the DDO (Diocesan Director of Ordinands) about 1 category out of 9 which I will be tested on in a Bishop selection panel. This meeting was about my ‘Spirituality’ and knowing that I have a very fluctuating prayer life from being at university, it meant it needed work on it. To prepare myself for this meeting, I was inclined to use some very helpful material to help me pray and one of them was  this book:  “Pocket Prayers: The Classic collection” composed by Christopher Herbert.  This book is full of prayers, and some of them are very good. There are a collection from prayers for adoration, thanksgiving, confession etc, written by church fathers, and some are very poetic. It is a helpful guide to pray with faith and confidence to our heavenly father.

This prayer is out of the book and its a self offering prayer by king Henry VI (1421-72)

‘O Lord Jesus Christ, who created and redeemed me, and hast brought me unto that which I am, thou knowest what thou wouldst do with me; do with me according to thy will; for thy tender mercy’s sake.’

During the meeting, he asked me ‘Do you have a structured prayer life?’ This was a question that I have never associated with using the word structure for prayer. A lot of the time, you feel that when you need God, you ‘oblige’ to prayer to him for help. Have you ever prayed to God so something that isn’t for your self? I know its hard at times, and it does feel like that God I to be our ‘provider’ and not our ‘friend’ or ‘king’. This made me feel that I need to find some time to structure my prayer life in order that I consistently prayer with faith and confidence. It also means that if I don’t feel that i want to prayer daily, then it becomes a problem!!!!!

The DDO Advised me to use the ‘Daily prayer-book’ (This is mainly the Common Worship Daily prayer book [look right], but he has said that I could use the BCP ‘Book of Common Prayer’, to add to the variety). I gave it ago this week and it’s not too bad if you feel like you can’t be bothered to prayer, but I’m starting to understand the anglican form of ‘quiet time’. I have set myself a target after Christmas to have a good term of Daily prayer, in order to continue the development of my spiritual life.

A few questions for thought!

What is your daily prayer life-like? 

 Why don’t you use the ‘Daily Prayer’ as a STRUCTURE to develop your own quiet time?

Jesus gave an example in what we should pray, and I believe that it is still the most valid prayer in today’s society. The Lords Prayer.

In Mathew’s gospel chapter 6 verses 5 – 14 it says:

5“And when you pray, do not be like the hypocrites, for they love to pray standing in the synagogues and on the street corners to be seen by men. I tell you the truth, they have received their reward in full. 6But when you pray, go into your room, close the door and pray to your Father, who is unseen. Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you. 7And when you pray, do not keep on babbling like pagans, for they think they will be heard because of their many words. 8Do not be like them, for your Father knows what you need before you ask him.

 9“This, then, is how you should pray:
   ” ‘Our Father in heaven,
   hallowed be your name,
 10your kingdom come,
   your will be done
      on earth as it is in heaven.
 11Give us today our daily bread.
 12Forgive us our debts,
      as we also have forgiven our debtors.
 13And lead us not into temptation,
   but deliver us from the evil one.[a]14For if you forgive men when they sin against you, your heavenly Father will also forgive you.

The understanding of prayer is complete doctrine by itself, but the DDO was concentrating on it this week, so it made me want to blog it!

 

Comments
  1. Jonathan Harper says:

    I’m enjoying your blog Simon. I read once that as being in prayer is a relationship, God is excited and pleased whenever you pray to him. There’s no such thing as the right amount of prayer, but just being in his presence is as good as praying, even if you don’t say anything at all!
    But I suppose as Jesus made time to go and spend time alone with God that we should do the same.
    Blessings in your journey to seek him.
    Jon

    • ministry-trainee says:

      I agree John and thank you for having time to read it! Prayer is a realationship with God, and I agree with not having to say anything, but I have to show to the Bishop selection panel that I have a prayer pattern otherwise they have no proof that I pray!! I know it sounds daft, but its the way of being ordained these days.

Leave a Reply

